It was in October last year that Google decided to terminate its social-media platform Google+ after a bug that exposed the data of over 5,00,000 users was discovered by Google. Later, the company announced that it would advance the shutdown of Google+ by four months.
Now, the company has made it official that it will start to delete the data of Google+ users starting 2 April.
As per a blog post released by the company, as soon as the deletion starts and as early as 4 February, users will no longer be able to create new Google+ profiles, pages, communities, or events.
All of the comments generated by Google+ on external websites will be taken down from the website by 7 March. All of the users who have used Google+ to post comments will be deleted as well.
Things that are under the threat of deletion are the photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive as well as your Google+ pages. It is strongly recommended that you download and save all your Google+ data before it gets deleted. You can go to the Google Support page to know how exactly you can safeguard your data.
Another thing to lookout for is the applications and services which you accessed using Google+. According to Google, those websites and apps will soon stop working soon.
There are chances that some of these login credentials will be replaced by a Google sign-in button where you will be required to to sign in with your Google account in order to continue using the service.
The company says that the process of deletion will take time which is why there’s a possibility that you might see your Google+ account active for a few months beyond April. Access to other Google services will not be impacted as part of the Google+ shutdown.
Also, G Suite users will not be affected by this step. So if there’s anything important you have saved on Google+, better save whatever you can before it’s too late.
(The Quint is now on WhatsApp. To receive handpicked stories on topics you care about, subscribe to our WhatsApp services. Just go to TheQuint.com/WhatsApp and hit the Subscribe button.)