Daily Dollars

Earn Dollars Daily With DailyDollars

Asian Games 2018: The Koreas March Under ‘Unification Flag’


The Koreas Get Unified at the Asian Games 2018

The North and the South Korea will be participating as one team in this event. The two countries march as one team for the first time in the 18th Asian games 2018.

In the opening ceremony in Jakarta, athletes from North and South Korea parade together under the flag featuring a blue map that symbolized a unified Korean Peninsula.

(Photo: AP)

It was a virtual repeat of the joint march during February’s Winter Olympics in the South Korean ski resort of Pyeongchang, minus the gloves, parkas and fur hats.

Indonesia Performers Light the Stage up at 18th Asian Games

The GBK stadium of Jakarta was lit in blue and green with their rich display of flora at the opening ceremony of the 18th Asian Games.

(Photo: AP)
(Photo: AP)

Dancers perform during the opening ceremony of the 18th Asian Games at Gelora Bung Karno Stadium in Jakarta, Indonesia.

India Arrive with 572 Athlete Contingent

The Indian team arrive at the ‘Parade of Athletes’ with their 572 athlete contingent.

The combined Koreas march into Gelora Bung Karno Stadium under the “unification” flag during the opening ceremony for the 18th Asian Games in Jakarta, IndonesiaThe combined Koreas march into Gelora Bung Karno Stadium under the “unification” flag during the opening ceremony for the 18th Asian Games in Jakarta, Indonesia(Photo: AP)

Afghanistan Begin the Prestigious ‘Parade of Athletes’

The ‘Parade of Athletes’ was set in motion by Afghanistan in their traditional dress.

Indonesian President Joko Widodo Arrives at the GBK Stadium in Jakarta

(Photo: AP)

The Indonesian President Joko Widodo arrives at the Gelora Bung Karno Stadium to set in motion the 18th Asian Games in Jakarta, Indonesia.

Shiva Keshavan, Karnam Malleswari Wish the Indian Contingent Their Very Best

Sydney Olympic bronze winner, Karnam Malleswari and six time olympian Shiva Keshavan wished their very best to the Indian contingent. Both the athletes took to twitter to express their firm belief that the athletes representing India at the Asian Games will do the country proud.

“Don’t forget that 125 crore prayers will be supporting you, give it your best , ”said Karnam Malleswari.

Asian Games Opening Ceremony to Commence Shortly

The opening ceremony of Asian Games 2018 in Jakarta will start at 5:30 pm IST on Saturday, 18 August.

Young javelin-thrower Neeraj Chopra will be carrying India’s flag and lead the contingent at the Asian Games 2018.

Where to watch:

The opening ceremony will be telecast on Sony ESPN.

Indian Flag Raised at Asian Games Athletes Village Jakarta

Indian flag raised in JakartaIndian flag raised in Jakarta(Photo Courtesy: Asian Games 2018)

The tri-colour was unfurled on Friday, 17 August at the Asian Games athletes Village following a simple flag-hoisting ceremony, attended by India’s men’s hockey stars and wrestlers.

Since hockey players and wresters were the first ones to land here, only they could attend the ceremony as shuttlers and kabaddi players landed in the Indonesain capital this afternoon via Singapore.

The tennis players, led by coach Zeeshan Ali, headed straight to Palembang from Singapore.

Indian contingent’s Chef de mission (CDM) Brij Bhushan Singh Sharan and two deputy CDMs were also present during the occasion.

The officials from the organising committee greeted the officials and wished luck to the Indian athletes.

Dipa Karmakar Will Lead The Gold Quest in Gymnastics

Dipa will be looking for a podium finish at Jakarta and will look to continue her good run since Rio 2016.

Women Individual/Team: Dipa Karmakar, Pranati Das, Aruna Reddy, Mandira Chowdhury, Pranati Nayak

Men Individual/Team: Rakesh Patra, Yogeshwar Singh, Gaurav Kumar, Ashish Kumar, Siddharth Verma

Hockey: Men’s and Women’s Team Will Look For Podium Finish

Defending champion India will look to once again bring home the gold in the men’s category while the women’s team will look to better their bronze-medal performance from Incheon to finish with the yellow metal

The men team will be lead by goalie PR Sreejesh while the women’s team will be lead by Rani Rampal.

Men Team: PR Sreejesh (Captain), Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (Vice-Captain), Krishan B Pathak, Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar, Birendra Lakra, Surender Kumar, Rupinder Pal Singh, Amit Rohidas, Manpreet Singh, Simranjeet Singh, Sardar Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, SV Sunil, Mandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Dilpreet Singh

Women Team: Rani Rampal (Captain), Savita (Vice-Captain), Rajani Etimarpu, Deep Grace Ekka, Sunita Lakra, Deepika, Gurjit Kaur, Reena Khokhar, Namita Toppo, Lilima Minz, Monika, Udita, Nikki Pradhan, Neha Goyal, Vandana Katariya, Lalremsiami, Navneet Kaur, Navjot Kaur

(The Quint is now on WhatsApp. To receive handpicked stories on topics you care about, subscribe to our WhatsApp services. Just go to TheQuint.com/WhatsApp and hit the Subscribe button.)

Updated: August 18, 2018 — 1:03 pm
Daily Dollars © 2018 Frontier Theme